top of page

Content Without Control

Man, oh man, the number of things that are literally flowing through my head today; all good things, all good things! Literally, so much. There is just so much excitement around me at once. I am finally up and running with my blog, other than a few things I plan to tweak and add as I grow with Christ. We are under contract on a beautiful home that I have left in God's control and let Christ work in my heart to hand it over to him. I am also finally embarking on taking a few leaps forward and joining in with a ladies bible study group at church.


Out of everything going on, one thing that is huge in my mind would be the new bible study group I have joined. This is the first time that I have joined in on a women's group thing. The study focuses on "Learning Contentment in a Culture of More." Each section is divided up between being content in deliverance, preparation, uncertainty, obedience, opposition, and blessings. One important aspect of the study, in my opinion, is that we are learning this through the Word of God and his teachings. I am so excited to dig into this study. I am even more excited about the fact that there are some really great ladies in the group as well.


There is a bonus challenge which is super neat! You wear a bracelet every day and if you complain, you have to switch it to the opposite wrist every time. Each time it is switched, we are supposed to label at least one thing we have found contentment within our lives. Additionally, a second part to the bonus challenge involves taking five minutes each day with complete alone time with God to focus on the attributions he has instilled on our lives, along with just taking a moment to be still with him. He tells us many times throughout his word to “Be still.” One verse really rings to mind from Exodus 14:14, “The Lord will fight for you; you need only be still.”


Exodus 14:14 really sticks with me a lot because one of the main things I mentioned within a group discussion today was letting the reins over to God by letting him have full control of my life. Growing up, the only way I knew how to make sure nothing went wrong was to “try and control the situation.” I thought “it worked.” I was very wrong, but I was young and it became a learned behavior that later was diagnosed as a personality disorder. It happens. Me going through everything I did, allowed for me to look at life differently, see things from a much different perspective; more so once I started releasing that control over to God. I was able to look at it from an even biggest perspective when I came across Ephesians 6:12, “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.”


There are many things that I have “battled” throughout the short time of my life so far. Not one of those battles were defeated until I stepped closer to God and started releasing that control. My “control” prevented me from being content in trusting the Lord to work in my life to take away what crippled me. Although he didn’t “take it away,” he did take away the previous perspective I once had; the negative one. The negative attitude that, in turn, shooed away any chance of surviving this thing called mental health that I dealt with from so many directions. My outlook on things is FINALLY far more positive than ever before. I give all the credit to our Lord for working day and night in my heart and mind as I’ve asked him to take over in my life.


With that, I have made a commitment, just as Paul did and stated in Ephesians, to become a servant to Christ. My struggles can help serve God in showing the people that there is a loving God who can take these pains away and put them to better use. For I know that “I can do all things through him who gives me strength,” Philippians 4:13.

 

"Rejoice in the Lord always, I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable - if anything is excellent or praiseworthy - think about such things."

Philippians 4:4-8

 

Thank you Lord for everything you have presented me with. Thank you for filling my mind and heart with you. You are almighty and so amazing. I do not deserve the love and forgiveness you give me. Thank you for never leaving me or forsaking me. Again Lord, I am yours.

Amen.

 


13 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Purify and Draw

Purify and Draw: James 4:8, “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands you sinners; and purify your hearts, you...

Life as a Wife

Proverbs 31:10-12 NASB95 - "An excellent wife, who can find? For her worth is far above jewels. The heart of her husband trusts in her,...

Oppression

Quick study/reminder... Oppression means to be exploited, taken advantage of, mistreated; to keep someone in hardship, sometimes by an...

1 Comment


teanessa
Jan 18, 2019

I love this blog so much! Thanks for always tying everyday life in with what the Lord has said and how He is showing His love for us

Like
bottom of page